Stinky Spikes New Vocabulary: Durianopathy

du.ria.nop.a.thy | \ (/ˈdjʊəriənπᾰ́θοy)

plural durianopthies

Definition of durianopathy

: any period or length of time where durians have been lacking in one’s diet causing a stressful craving disorder that can cause a person or group of people to seek any type of durian and dream or imagine eating them.

Usage

1: Over the last few months, I’ve been suffering from durianopathy.

2: Durianopathy made me pay more than double the price of what I would normally pay in Bentong.

3: This durianopathy has gone on long enough, you get out of bed and I will find you some durians!

 

Did you think I’d given up on this blog?Well, NO…! I’m just trying to find a way to find durians wherever I am. It’s not easy but its never far from my mind either. Last year and this has been a tumultuous time in Hong Kong, from the situations on the streets to the unrelenting death, disability and disruption by Covid19.

Hong Kong was challenging from the durian enjoyment perspective. Durians are expensive passengers and demand to be flown and not placed on ocean going ships. Then there’s the issue of pre-flight clearance procedures and packaging.

By the time the durian comes around, it is pricey, not very fresh and usually in other states apart from its natural one (ie. frozen rock solid, mashed into a mushy pulp or in some state of decomposition). I have the occasional treat when durian parties are organized but by and large those are fairly few and I have long durian droughts.

I am in Taipei and on the hunt for durians this summer. My basic research so far (shopping in markets) has indicated that the durian market here is largely dominated by Thai varieties, some masquerading as Mao Shan Wang in order to squeak out a slightly higher selling price. More on this in a later post….

There are Malaysian durians but they are considerably more expensive and only sold at very specific shops or the most premium supermakets.

I hope you will join me on this Taiwanese expedition.

Leave a comment