News update: All Gone…

I received a last minute invitation to a Thanksgiving dinner and was wondering what to bring. I had some green agar jellies that I’d made but thought that something more substantial was in order. My go to gift is always good fruit. Expensive but delicious and worth it if the host is a fruity foodie (which my host was).

Back to Fu Wing. There really wasn’t much in the way of anything special, the peaches were soft and only 3 were left. I wanted the unmolested fruit. So out of the fridge came the crisp persimmons and Korean pears. 

Wait a minute. Where were the durians I saw yesterday? The polystyrene box was there but nothing on top but clear airspace. 

So I asked.

See tao po: “ai ya, lao lin mai sai la”

Translation: ai ya, durians sold out.

I asked who bought it, whether one person bought all or each bought one?

See tao po: one person bought one box, one person bought one box and a half, one person bought 2, one person bought 3. So all sold out.

Curious me: how much was it per box?

See tao po: 26 pounds

Curious me: so it was 168 per pound you sold them?

See tao po: for box bulk buyers special discount, 148 per pound.

Wow. In Hong Kong money is no object (relative to property prices, everything pales) and dropping a few thousand for durian is no issue. 

Curious me: for that price they can go to Malaysia to eat durian!

See Tao po: yes but the buyer said that when he went last time he couldn’t get any as all the Musang Kings had been exported!

Competition for the best fresh durians is already happening?! 

Well globalisation and international logistics chains are skewing markets everywhere. Good and bad I suppose, depending on which side you’re on.

2 thoughts on “News update: All Gone…

    • Ha ha ha true but I’m ok with delayed gratification🙂 I’m pretty sure for that amount of money I can buy the best there is in Singapore and loads of it. Will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

