Jack and Jill went up the Hill……(Penang Hill that is)

My friend Jack, his wife and baby (neither of them are named Jill actually), went for a long weekend trip to visit relatives in Penang.

Of course it is Durian season and in a fit of being completely Kay-poh (busybody in dialect) I messaged them to ask how the durian consumption was going. They sent me these photos to “give me an idea” of the Penang durian makan fest that was happening while they messaged me.

Mmmmm, I could almost smell it and taste it. Here are the photos of the smorgasbord….. unedited.

A Whole Cempadak

A Whole Cempadak

Okay okay, that’s not durian I hear you say…!

Here we go… all this durian below for only 4 people. Well, it is the season and they do have excellent durian kakis (friends) who place the order ahead of time. Jack and his wife are one of the most organized durian consumers I know…. they planned this trip a year in advance.

Penang Durian by the Tub

Penang Durian by the Tub

These are 3 or 4 liter tubs…. Jack started eating at 8 in the evening and at 11pm was still going strong to finish the lot…

Fruit Cousins in Season: Durian and Cempadak

Fruit Cousins in Season: Durian and Cempadak

And the usual smaller 500ml tubs plus the cempadaks….

How many Cempadaks can Jack eat?

How many Cempadaks can Jack eat?

Seriously, I think my friend could be a contestant for a “Who can eat the most durians” competition, like the crazy coney island hot dog competitions in New York. It’s more healthy than hot dogs too (none of those awful processed meats and preservatives) and guaranteed to pass through the system without causing constipation!

Way to go Jack!

 

*Sadly, they couldn’t bring any durian back for me. I did get a small pack of cempadak though but it’s not the same is it.*

 

 

3 thoughts on “Jack and Jill went up the Hill……(Penang Hill that is)

    • Okay I asked and Jack’s wife said it was “Ang Hae” the famous Red Prawn Durian 🙂 Available only from Penang I think.

Leave a Reply

