Durian Seeds for Brett

Ok, I finally summoned up the bravado to put up this post. Brett had asked me to send him some seeds and I did. I took the liberty of ascertaining if they were good to grow by cleaning them and placing them in water to see if they would yield viable sprouts, which you can see that they did from the photo below. I put them in a neat little tupperware, packed it with wet cotton wool and sealed it twice over with cling film. Put in a nice packaged envelope and sent them by the express mail to him in California.

Sadly, Brett tells me that the seeds did arrive, but were completely destroyed in the shipping process. I wonder if it was intentional by Mr. Postman who maybe didn’t want any durians crossing the border. Brett wrote that he ended up eating them so as not to waste them, but they had arrived in splinters and were of no use to him.

Anyway, I can’t say that I wasn’t disappointed, but I guess the only way to know is to try again. Brett, you can see the seeds in their original state before they left me and I had written this brief post but hadn’t posted it yet and was hoping in some part that you might have a little plant to show me.

=======================================================

Dear Brett,

These wonderful highland D24 durian seeds are in the post to you and if all is well, you should be receiving them in another day or two. I hope that they survive the journey and have a new and happy home with you in America.

Durian seeds for Brett

4 thoughts on “Durian Seeds for Brett

  1. What a nice thing to do for someone
    Here in Australia our quarantine lawyers are very strict and sprouting seeds or fungus on seeds are confiscated. I’m currently in the Philippines and have been eating the local variety small type dark green grey skin color with the taste of tiramasu flavor, very nice will be taking the seeds back home in 2 weeks time hope they will keep and that they don’t sprout before customs inspection I have brought with me some anti fungus powder to control the fungal spores.
    Love your blog keep up the good work

    • Hi John!

      Is it durian season now in the Philippines? None more here in Malaysia or Singapore.
      I hope your seeds grow well and do let me know how it goes.

      🙂 Stinky S-One

      • Hi Stinky
        Apparently the durian that I purchased was at end of season durian but very nice.
        I am back home now and have some D 24 seeds that I got from Geylang just 4 days ago and they are sprouting very well. Alas I am still waiting for the Philippines durian seeds to show some life, I will give them a couple of weeks if there is no life they will end up in my composting bin.
        I am hoping to visit a couple of durian farms in Malaysia in May. And hoping that they will share with me their experiences in raising their plants and how they deal in combating the disease
        Phytophthora. Which is deadly for durians.
        Cheers
        John

      • Hi John!

        Good luck with those seeds from the Philippines, although if they don’t sprout within 10-14 days then I suspect you’re not going to get very much luck with them. Great that you’re going to do some research on how to grow healthy durian trees. I think that the farmers from the larger commercial farms may be able to give you good advice. I think in May the trees in Penang aren’t quite ready yet, the harvest is June to August. There are some organic farms now, in Melaka for example but I think if you want to learn about the trees, it might be best to get in touch with the owner of the farm in advance and make an appointment.

        Let us know how it goes!

        🙂 Stinky Spikes

Leave a Reply

