How the heaty Durian can cool you down…

Its just after Chinese New Year (2 weeks in the second half of Feb) and the weather is behaving a little weirder than usual but that’s not really unusual considering the weather patterns occurring around the world. In Malaysia and Singapore, it has been intermittently hot as hot can be and cool after a lashing tropical rain storm. I think it is as traumatic for humans as it is for plants.

During this hot hot weather, I’ve been going in short sleeves and always opting for a lighter outfit in anticipation of the sticky uncomfortable feeling that follows having been outside. I’ve also had more ice-cream cravings than usual, ordering a sorbet or an ice cream scoop at any opportunity. This blog entry is thus dedicated to durian ice cream.

Yes, I know that I’ve been a snob in previous posts and turned my nose up at durian derivatives, but in weather like this, eating the fruit is delicious, but eating the ice cream is unbeatable.

Durian malaysian ice cream

Malaysian Durian Potong Stick

First up, the humble Durian potong stick, which retails for less than RM 1.50 and comes in local flavors like corn, red bean, pandan and cendol. By far the most popular is the Durian I think as there weren’t as many in the freezer as the other flavors. You can find this at any of the local grocery stores (this one taken in Taman Megah) and its basically a popsicle which has a very light flavor and the texture of frozen water.

Ice cream flavors at Bangkok Airport

Durian ice cream for 99 Baht at Suvarnabhumi

At the Bangkok Airport, they tout home made ice cream at the Japanese restaurant where one scoop sets you back 99 Baht which is the equivalent of about USD 3. I think it’s a relatively big scoop though and the flavors do look refreshingly unique and fruity.

Next time I’m there, I’ll be giving the Durian or the Mangosteen ice cream a try.

Ice cream stand at Bangkok Airport

Local Flavored Ice Creams at Suvarnabhumi Airport, Bangkok

Well after all this reviewing, I’m sure you’re wondering whether I’ve had any durian ice cream that I would bother eating myself and recommending to my Stinky Spike friends?

YES….!! I have to give a drool factor of MAXIMUM to the durian ice cream that I had in Singapore at a new-ish ice-creamery in Holland Village known as the “Daily Scoop”. The ice creams are all made fresh on site by the owner (lawyer turned entrepreneur). I have to credit this discovery to my mum who is very much into trying new things in the neighborhood. She said “Girls, let’s go try the ice cream in Holland Village, the Durian ice cream is really fantastic”. Well, that sold us (or me anyway, my sister just got dragged along). It’s a beautiful little ice cream shop with very simple but neat decor. Concrete floors, white-washed walls with funky chairs and simple tables for the quick bite or the longer sit and chat crowd.

The Daily Scoop Ice Cream Store in Holland Village Singapore

The Daily Scoop Ice Cream Shop in Holland Village

Holland Village has become quite hip and with the new MRT station opening up just around the corner, I can imagine that this part of town is going to get a lot more traffic.

The Daily Scoop has many local flavors and of course the usual favorites, Cendol, red bean, black sesame and DURIAN feature and are rated highly on the menu. Vanilla, chocolate and hazelnut are all on the menu too for those who want the more conventional.

Here’s the menu for the take-away tubs (we bought a tub of Durian-Durian to take away).

Take Away the Daily Scoop Flavors!

And finally, here’s a photo of the Durian ice cream. One scoop of Durian and one scoop of hazelnut s’il vous plait….. 🙂

If you’re in Singapore on a hot day, I highly recommend that you give this joint a try.

2 scoops: Delicious Durian and Hazelnut

Leave a Reply

