Linda shares her Durian growing experience

A big thank you to Linda for sharing her durian growing experience with me. Since I am also new to this entire process, its helpful to have other fellow novice durian germinators sharing what they did (whether it succeeds or not).

In a durian nutshell, Linda brought the seeds home from her trip to Thailand where she first sampled this delectable delicacy. Her husband, now addicted to the heavenly aromas and textures, requested his beautiful wife to keep the seeds and cultivate these gems into living souvenirs of their journey and maybe provide stinky annual reminders of their experiences from the Kingdom of Smiles.

She dutifully washed them and soaked them but a week passed and there was no sign of life. Then she planted them in soil and voila! after a few weeks, a wriggly stem appeared.

Linda sent me 3 photos, I’ve put it into a composition so that you can clearly see how its grown.

Linda's Baby Durian Plantlet

Linda's Baby Durian Plantlet

6 thoughts on “Linda shares her Durian growing experience

  1. Hi Saritaone

    It’s been a while and I thought I would receive notifications whenever you post anything on your site but that was not the case, so I decided to check it out!

    Is it actually possible to receive notifications when there’s any new post on the whole site or I have to click on the below ‘notify me’ each time?

    By the way, my durian plant is looking pretty much the same as last time. I think the slight difference is that it is still curling further towards the soil! Most weird. It’s been quite sunny in the UK lately, even in late September.

    Also great idea about the cling film to keep the soil moist, I’ll have to do it as the soil is drying out very fast and the plant looks wrinkled and old already.

    I’ll go do it right now actually.

    • Hi Linda!
      Thanks for the suggestion on the notifications. I’ve added a new section which allows you to receive the notifications for either posts or comments (you can sign up for both) so that you’ll be in the loop with any updates on the site.
      Yes, you must keep your little seedling well watered, this is the crucial time when it has already lost its food supply (the seed) and it doesn’t have its leaves yet to photosynthesize. Hence, keeping it well watered will at least enable it to absorb whatever nutrients it can from the soil – I think the way it works is that the minerals/organic matter dissolve in the water, which can then be absorbed by the roots. Make sure the soil is wet through and that water is draining out the bottom of the pot. Then you can just add small amounts every day or every other day depending on your humidity. You may also wish to add some organic fertilizer (small amount) to the soil to augment its nutrient status.

      Save the durian! Let me know how it goes…

      Saritaone

  2. Hi

    Thanks for adding the new section, I’m totally subscribed now, can’t miss any news in future!

    I’ve now also added plant food that encourages growth. Hope it helps. I’ve positioned the plant in a different angle too (the tip is almost touching the roots) and the soil is also very moist now. Will update you soon of any progress.

    Regards
    Linda

  3. Hi Saritaone

    Bad news: my durian plant is dead! It was still curling more towards the soil instead of upright, then lately started developing mould closer to the roots. I washed it, transplanted it and the mould came back, so I guess that’s it. The end.
    Will still follow your blog though and glad to see your plant is looking very healthy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Dear Linda,

      I’m sorry to hear about the mould and subsequent demise of your durian plant. The key, I think is to always attempt more than 1 seed and also maybe it’s gotta be fresh and get a good start to life. I am thinking of performing an experiment where the durian seed is frozen and then subsequently germinated to see if it will work. Freshness might also be an issue, so another experiment would be to keep the seed for a few days and then try to germinate it.

      There is also the issue of the species. I have noticed that the much loved MSW always has beautiful flavor and full of texture but its seeds are always mis-shapened, small and flat looking. I think that none of these will yield a healthy plant. Thing is, lots of durians are quite cultivated and are usually grown from graft for a faster yield. It may be that these crossings have already compromised the suitability of producing a healthy seed (why bother when it isn’t necessary for reproduction?). The trees that we have in malaysia aren’t always results of crossings and are known as “old” trees or “original” trees, these are the species that have not undergone any severe genetic manipulation and perhaps are still biologically sound.

      So I think that your experiment was a good effort, though you may get better results next time if you are able to select your starting material carefully and prime your seed properly. Next vacation stop Malaysia?

      Direct Airasia flights from the UK have already started from Stansted!

      Will keep you updated on Stinky Spikes No.1 soon.

      Saritaone ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Hi

    Sorry for the late reply.
    It seemed to have been quite difficult to even get that seed to germinate cause I planted a handful of these seeds and the others did not germinate.
    What is MSW? I probably had that one, that’s why it didn’t succeed.
    Yes I wish to give it a go another time when I visit the Far East again.
    I’ll still be following your threads. Interested in the growth of your plant!

    Best regards

Leave a Reply

