Durian Seed Husk Finally Falls Off

This blog entry is dedicated to Linda, who wrote in and asked how the baby durian seed is doing. It is finally a little plantlet but I think it isn’t completely out of the danger zone yet. SW resisted assisting it by taking off the husk thinking that there might be big leaves waiting to unfurl inside but to our surprise, no big leaves appeared, only the small ones which we saw peeking out before.

The leaves themselves seem a bit pale and we’re wondering whether these leaves might just dry up and die due to the shock of the soil transplant and pot transfer. I mentioned this to AC who advised me that the Durian is in fact a very large tree and thus all energy will be diverted to root construction first, followed by the upper dimensions of the plant. I hope she’s right.

Durian Seed Husk Finally Falls Off

Durian Seed Husk Finally Falls Off

Here’s a photo aerial view of the durian plantlet. You can see that the stem hasn’t grown much since the last photo. The seed husk has now fallen off and dropped directly down onto the soil surface.

The leaves seem to curl off the crooked stem because of the initial weight of the husk which it had to be strong enough to lift off the surface.

We’re not sure if the leaves are going to make it but there are some small shoots that are appearing off the side of the stem between the junction of the “bark” like area and the green shoot.

Durian seed husk finally expelled

Durian seed husk finally expelled

In this next photo, you can see the artistic bend in the shoot with its beautiful leaves curled round like the delicate fingers of a Thai classical dancer.

There are a few green nodes appearing along the side of the stem but we’ll have to see if they develop into new stem and leaves. Judging by how slow it has been to get this far, I suspect that we’re going to have to be very, very patient.

Had durian cravings this week, but I’m heading to Penang to make sure I catch the last wave of the Balik Pulau durian crop and will let you know how it goes. ๐Ÿ™‚

3 thoughts on “Durian Seed Husk Finally Falls Off

  1. Hi

    Thanks for this blog! I like how you describe everything in so much detail and with a bit of poetry. Your durian plant looks great, I hope the leaves are better now.
    I am starting to worry about my plant. I grew the seeds in the second week of June. I don’t remember how many seeds I had, maybe about 8. I’ve put them altogether. There is one of them which appeared above the soil, 3/4 of the visible ‘stem’ is very thick and the other part is very thin, then it digs back into the soil. Strange… Any clue what is going on?

    • Dear Linda,

      Hi there and I’m very happy to hear that you’re enjoying keeping up with my little posts on durians. My durian “plantlet” (I’m coining a new term until I’m confident that it has really become a full plant) is doing okay, I’m trying my very best to make sure that I simulate a natural environment although a balcony really isn’t the same as a garden. The leaves aren’t looking great and I think they aren’t going to make it. Last I checked, they were brown and withered and still very small. I think it is partly my fault, SW suggested that we give it a “Cesarean section” to remove the seed husk and expose the leaves but I didn’t think that we should interfere with nature. Obviously, there are definitely times when nature needs a little help.
      However, it’s not all doom and gloom. The durian plantlet now has tiny green buds at the intersection of the “bark” and “stem” section. We remain hopeful that these will take over the production of leaves and that soon this little guy can photosynthesize on its own.

      As for your seeds, did you make sure that you washed all of them so that they were nice and clean? If you check on them, some might have rotten if the flesh was left on it. Those ones you should just throw away. Good to hear that at least one seed made it, its probably the biggest fattest one right? For the visible “stem” that’s completely normal, plant the wriggly thing straight into the soil as that’s the root and it needs to head downwards.

      Your soil should be very organic (black and rich in nutrients) and loose in texture and not too sandy. I kept my little seed outdoors but sort of “in the shade” which I think is better than bright sunshine as it would tend to dry out. Remember also that this little tree needs a lot of water, it is a tropical plant after all. Lastly, in my last post on the plantlet, we transferred it into a bigger pot to give the roots more space. I think that it would be a good idea to make sure that you’re not overcrowding the seeds and make sure that there’s lots of soil for it to take root. You don’t have to submerge the entire seed beneath the soil, I think it might be better not to as the stem will eventually lift the seed husk off the ground and expose its leaves. So maybe just leave it resting on the soil with the “stem” facing down into the soil.

      Hope it goes well for your durian seedling and let me know when it’s a durian plantlet! As I mentioned in a previous post, it took me a real long time to get my seed started too.

      Happy Stinky Always,
      Saritaone

      ps. Maybe you can email me some photos of your seedling? ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d be interested to know which species you’re trying to grow.

  2. Hi Saritaone

    Thanks for the quick reply and the good tips. I would love to give you more details.

    How can I send you photos? Can you please give me your email address?

    Thanks,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

