D88 instead of Elvis Durians

Durian D88

Durian D88

If my memory serves me right, last Friday was the first time  that I’ve tried the D88 variety of durian. This one was kind of cute and looked like it had a nice shape.

The D88 does not have a name (unlike mau sang wang, Elvis, Bamboo etc) and another foodblog from Singapore also confirms that D88 doesn’t have a funky name.

Following from the last entry, our Jalan Imbi Stall had already run out of mau sang wang and were closing up the stall when we appeared. The owner’s wife said that they specialize in selling mau sang wangs and when those run out, its pretty much time to close up until tomorrow’s shipment.

Anyway, since we had already planned for our durian night out, we promptly sat down and were served with the D88. One thing that we noticed about the D88 was that the flesh was a lot fleshier and the seeds a lot larger and rounder.

D88 Interior of Durian

D88 Interior of Durian

The fruit pits were deep and roundish and the flesh was quite creamy but had a drier and slightly more fibrous texture. It was just ripe and quite pungent, the aroma had a woody taste to it, sort of like a whisky matured in an oak barrel. The color of the durian flesh is a very light yellow like an unripe papaya but with the translucent depth of Chinese skin.

Each pit had between 2 to 3 seeds but the seeds were fairly large and you don’t get the satisfaction of sinking your teeth deep into the flesh without encountering the smooth and slippery seed surface.

We had 3 D88 in total and finished it off with 2 netbags of mangosteens to cool off the heatiness of the durians.

4 thoughts on “D88 instead of Elvis Durians

  1. Love the site! Just got to KL from Thailand (excellent durian as well), and have been hitting up a very good, albeit expensive D24/D2 stall in Chinatown. On the hunt for more durian tomorrow and Monday…where can I get this D88?
    Cheers,
    Dan

    • Hi Dan!

      Thanks for writing to me and always happy to help a fellow durian fanatic… Thailand’s variety of durian tends towards the “Golden Pillow” species which is a very large fruit and the texture, taste and aromas are usually very consistent. The Thai agriculture industry has managed to perfect the art of cloning fruits (as I’m sure you’ve had the wonderful coconuts as well).

      One key difference is that Thais love to eat their durians a little on the unripe side, which is not to my taste – too dry and crisp like a stem of a vegetable- rather than smooth and creamy. Then again, Thais do love their unripe mangoes and unripe papayas, which make great salads.

      Instead of Chinatown (which serves largely tourists) you can try going to my usual haunt in Jalan Imbi. If you have a map of KL, the stall is between the stretch of road running by the Dorset Hotel and Berjaya Times Square (see my map). You can walk from Jalan Bukit Bintang from the monorail easily or approach from Times Square. By cab, ask them to take you to Soo Kee Noodle Stall (pronounced So-kay) and the durian stall is right beside it. He will recommend you what’s good if the D88 is not available (price is reasonable and you are assured of decent quality).

      If you’ve been eating only the D24 and D2 variety, you absolutely must try the XO and Mau Sang Wang variety. The flavors are completely different and you should eat them in the order as mentioned (so that you have the more fragile flavors before moving onto the stronger ones, like wine tasting).

      The species that I tried most recently and rather enjoyed was the High-land D24, subtley different from the usual D24’s, much more delicate.

      Let me know if you managed to try the Imbi durian stall, I can recommend a few more stalls which require a little more effort to get to – if you truly want the local, cheaper, non-touristy experience!

      Stinky Happy always,
      Saritaone

      • Thanks so much for the advice! I totally agree that the durian from Thailand just isn’t tasty the way they like it. I would always have to hunt for a really ripe fruit when I was there…but oh man it was soooooo good!

        But yesterday I made my way over to the area on your map, but did not see the stall…maybe he doesn’t work on Sundays? It was somewhere between 5-6pm. But as luck would have it, I stumbled upon another stall in that area, where I had a HUGE feast. I tried the XO type, which he already had opened and in packages. It was excellent!! Reminded me a lot of D24, which is one of my favorites.

        He had one other type, but the writing was all in Chinese I think. When I asked him the English name, he said “Durian King”. I never heard of this before, and it may just be something he made up on the spot…not sure. But anyways, I was eager to try, but he only had whole fruits for sale. Well I couldn’t let the size stop a true durian fanatic from experiencing a new variety on my last night in Malaysia, so I went for it. Wow…was totally blown away! It seemed a lot like Montohng, but if it was then it was the best one I’ve ever had! The actual fruit was huge relative to the shell. I have some photos of it, so if you send me an e-mail I’d be more than happy to show them to you and see if you can identify the kind.

        But wow…I graciously finished off the entire thing and was in a euphoric durian state. All-in-all, I must have had about 3 kilos! I think I even woke up with a durian hangover this morning 🙂

        Anyway, thanks again for your help. I can also send you some pics of the stall and the map location if you want…it would be cool to have a durian map for all us hardcore durian folk!

        I leave for Indonesia tonight, where I hear the durian is mind boggling! Keep up the good work on the blog, and enjoy the upcoming season!

        Cheers,
        Dan

  2. Hi Dan!

    Yes, I totally agree that Thai durians can’t really compete with the number of Malaysian durian varieties and flavors. There are just too many orchards and connoisseurs here, hence competition is tougher… which improves the quantity and quality of selection for us! 🙂

    Anyway, I’m sorry that you didn’t find the durian stall I referred you to, I was wondering if the map was a bit misleading (its not the place marked “A” but rather the point at the end of the thin black line. Perhaps he wasn’t open early yesterday evening, but he’s usually there when I go round for dinner in the area.

    So happy to hear you tried the XO durian! Isn’t it subtle compared to the D24? The “King” durian is also known as the “Mau Sang Wang” or “Elvis” (as in the “King” of Rock and Roll). I’ll post the chinese characters up one of my next entries and you can tell me if you recognize it to be the same. The key difference in terms of flavor between the XO and the King, is that the King has more of a bittersweet taste, whereas the XO is just slightly sweet with not a lot of aftertaste (which shall inspire the next posting).

    Would love to hear your tales of durian hunting in Indonesia and I’ll be dropping you a line for those picts of the stall you visited.

    Stinky & Happy Always,
    Saritaone

Leave a Reply

